The PM’s response to a question from Tom Watson MP on Operation Blue Star in 1984

“It is very important we get to the bottom of what happened and this is why I have asked the cabinet secretary to lead this review, he will establish this urgently and establish the facts, the process is under way.”

.

“I want it to be fast, I want it to find out the truth and the findings will be made public.”

.

“What happened in Amritsar 30 years ago led to a tragic loss of life. It remains a source of deep pain to Sikhs everywhere. I completely understand the concerns that these papers raise.”

.

“Lets wait for the outcome of the review by Sir Jeremy Haywood. I don’t want to prejudge the outcome but I would note so far it has not found any evidence to contradict the insistence by senior Indian army commanders responsible at the time that the responsibility for this, it was planned and carried out solely by the Indian army. “

.

“But we do need an inquiry to get to the bottom of this.”

Leave a comment